Chair

Kelly Moore
Assistant Professor
Department of Sociology
University of Cincinnati
Crosley Tower 1005
MC 0378
Cincinnati, OH 45221
(t) 513-556-4707
(f) 513-556-0057
kelly.moore@uc.edu

Chair-Elect

Daniel Lee Kleinman
University of Wisconsin-Madison
dlkleinman@facstaff.wisc.edu

Past Chair

Jennifer L. Croissant
University of Arizona
jlc@u.arizona.edu

Council Members

Patrick Eamon Carroll, University of California-Davis, pcarroll@ucdavis.edu
Scott Frickel, Tulane University, sfrickel@tulane.edu
Andrew Lakoff, University of California-San Diego, alakoff@ucsd.edu
Jackie Orr, Syracuse University, jtorr@maxwell.syr.edu
Jason Owen-Smith, University of Michigan, jdos@umich.edu
Laurel Smith-Doerr, Boston University, ldoerr@bu.edu

Secretary/Treasurer

Kelly A. Joyce, College of William and Mary, kajoyc@wm.edu

Student Representative

Chris B. Ganchoff, University of California-San Francisco

Committees

(Contact the Chairs to Volunteer)

Newsletter

Please send announcements and news to either editor. Contribute electronically, by regular post, or fax. 

Ann Lubrano
Polytechnic University
alubrano@poly.edu

Sarah Beth Kaufman
New York University
sarah.kaufman@nyu.edu

Web Management

Stephan Groschwitz, University of Cincinnati, stephan@groschwitz.de

Section Information

employment

Sally Hacker-Nicholas Mullins Student Paper Award

The Hacker-Mullins Award recognizes the best student paper in the area of science, knowledge, and technology. The winner receives a $250 prize.

Eligibility: Papers must have been written while the author was enrolled as a student. Published papers are eligible.

Deadlines: HARD COPIES (no electronic submissions) must be received by all committee members by March 1, 2008. 

Please see here for committee information.

Robert K. Merton Professional Award

This award recognizes an outstanding book published in the sociology of science, knowledge, and technology.

Eligibilty: Monographs published in 2007, 2006, and 2005.

Deadlines: Books must be received by March 1, 2008. Nominations do not have to include a description of the books or its merits, and may be made by publishers, the author, or any other person.

One copy of the nominated book should be sent to the committee members. Please see the full award information here for contact information.