The web site for the Section on Sex and Gender has moved. Please update your bookmarks to http://www.asanet.org/sectionsexgend

Section: Sex and Gender Sex and Gender Homepage Sex and Gender top masthead
News and Information
Awards
Links
Discussion
Committees
Section Officers
Council Members
American Sociological Association

Committees and Volunteer Opportunities

We encourage you to get involved in the section in any number of capacities. This section is a very friendly place, and Betsy Lucal (blucal@iusb.edu), our chair, can help anyone who is interested in committees or volunteering in some capacity. The committees and current committee members for the ASA Sex and Gender Section are the following:

Section on Sex & Gender 2012-13 Committees

PROGRAM COMMITTEE
Betsy Lucal (chair), blucal@iusb.edu
Jessica Fields, jfields@sfsu.edu
Tal Peretz, tperetz@usc.edu
Eve Shapiro, eshapiro@westfield.ma.edu
Pamela Stone, pstone@hunter.cuny.edu
Laurel Westbrook, westbrol@gvsu.edu


NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE

Jyoti Puri (chair), puri@simmons.edu
Kendal Broad, klbroad@ufl.edu
Denise Copelton, dcopelto@brockport.edu
Max Greenberg, maxgreen@usc.edu
Marla Kohlman, kohlmanm@kenyon.edu


SALLY HACKER AWARD
(Note: This committee is elected.)
Abby Ferber (chair), aferber@uccs.edu
Orit Avishai (2nd yr of term), avishai@fordham.edu
Catherine (Cati) Connell (2nd yr of term), cati@bu.edu
Fareen Parvez (1st yr of term), parvez@soc.umass.edu
Smitha Radhakrishnan (1st yr of term), sradhakr@wellesley.edu

DISTINGUISHED BOOK AWARD
Kristen Schilt (chair), kschilt@uchicago.edu
Kemi Balogun, oluwakemi.balogun@pomona.edu
Peter Hennen, hennen.6@osu.edu
Tey Meadow, tmeadow@princeton.edu
Amy Wilkins, amy.wilkins@colorado.edu


DISTINGUISHED ARTICLE AWARD

Mignon Moore (chair), moore@soc.ucla.edu
Kristen Barber, barber@siu.edu
Lauren Joseph, luj12@psu.edu
Stephanie Otte, smotte@memphis.edu
Robert Wyrod, rwyrod@umich.edu


FEMINIST SCHOLAR-ACTIVIST AWARD

Shelley Correll (chair), scorrell@stanford.edu
Christobel Asiedu, casiedu@latech.edu
Monisha Dasgupta, dasgupta@hawaii.edu
Tugce Ellialt, ellialti@sas.upenn.edu
Michael Messner, messner@email.usc.edu


MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE

Kimberly Richman (chair), kdrichman@usfca.edu
Carrie Alexandrowicz, carrie.alexandrowicz@stonybrook.edu
Caitlyn (Caity) Collins, caitlyn.collins@utexas.edu
Amy Chasteen Miller, amy.chasteen@usm.edu
Vrushali Patil, patilv@fiu.edu
Elroi Windsor, elroi.windsor@salem.edu


PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEE

Mary Nell Trautner (chair), trautner@buffalo.edu
Tristan Bridges, tbridges@brockport.edu
Ilana Demantas, idemantas@ku.edu
Christin Munsch, munschchristin@gmail.com
Gretchen Peterson, gpeters@exchange.calstatela.edu
Kristy Shih, shih1k@cmich.edu


STUDENT CONCERNS COMMITTEE

Alison Crossley (co-chair, Grad Student Rep), acrossley@umail.ucsb.edu
Mary Robertson (co-chair, Grad Student Rep), Mary.Robertson@colorado.edu
Danielle Denardo, Danielle.denardo@colorado.edu
Jaime Hartless, jnh9ts@virginia.edu
Alexandra Hendley, ahendley@umail.ucsb.edu
Sonny Nordmarken, snordmar@soc.umass.edu
Erin Wolbeck, ewolb001@ucr.edu

 

 

Page last updated: December 8, 2012
asasexandgender@gmail.com