section officers

The Medical Sociology Section holds annual elections for several positions. Nominations are accepted each year. Voting is faciliated through the American Sociological Association's annual election process.

Officers for 2012-2014

Susan E. Bell
Chair (Chair 2013-2014; Past Chair 2014-2015)
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
315 Adams Hall
Bowdoin College, 7000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011-8470
Phone: (207) 725-3292
sbell@bowdoin.edu​

Allan Horwitz
Immediate Past Chair 2013-2014
Rutgers University
Department of Sociology
Institute for Health, Health Care Policy and Aging Research
112 Paterson Street
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Phone: (848) 932-8378
ahorwitz@ifh.rutgers.edu​

Kristen W. Springer
Secretary-Treasurer (Secretary-Treasurer-Elect 2010-2011; Secretary-Treasurer 2011-2013)
Rutgers University
Department of Sociology/Institute for Health, Health Care Policy and Aging Research
112 Paterson Street
New Brunswick, NJ 8901
Phone (848) 932-7516
kspringe@rci.rutgers.edu​

Karen Lutfey
Secretary-Treasurer Elect (2012-2013; Secretary-Treasurer 2013-2014)
New England Research Institutes
9 Galen Street
Watertown, MA 02472
Phone: (617) 972-3313
klutfey@neriscience.com​

William C. Cockerham
Chair, Career and Employment Committee (2011-2013)
University of Alabama- Birmingham
Department of Sociology
HHB 460H
1530 3rd Avenue S
Birmingham, AL 35294-1152
Phone: (205) 934-8677
wcocker@uab.edu​

Dawne Mouzon Council Member-at-Large (2012-2014)
Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy
Rutgers University
33 Livingston Avenue, Room 546
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Phone: (732) 932-5475 x880
dawne.mouzon@rutgers.edu

Richard Miech
Council Member-at-Large (2011-2013)
University of Colorado at Denver and Health Sciences Center
Campus Box 188
PO Box 173364
Denver, CO 80217-3364
Phone: (303) 556-8422
rmiech@gmail.com​

Kristin Barker
Chair, Publications Committee (2011-2013)
University of New Mexico
Department of Sociology
kbarker@unm.edu

Laura Carpenter
Nominations Committee Chair (Chair-Elect 2011-2012; Chair 2012-2013)
Vanderbilt University
Department of Sociology
VU Station B, Box 1811
Nashville, TN 37235
Phone: (615) 322-7546
l.carpenter@vanderbilt.edu​

Rene Almeling
Chair-Elect, Nominations Committee (2012-2013; Chair 2013-2014)
Sociology Department
493 College St., Room 309
Yale University
PO Box 208265
New Haven, CT 06511
Phone: (203) 432‐3340
rene.almeling@yale.edu

Elizabeth M. Armstrong
Nominations Committee member (2012-2013)
Department of Sociology/Office of Population Research
253 Wallace Hall
Princeton, NJ 08544
Phone: (609) 258-6981
ema@princeton.edu

Kerry Dobransky
Nominations Committee member (2012-2013)
Dept. of Sociology and Anthropology
113 Sheldon Hall
James Madison University
800 S. Main St.
Harrisonburg, VA 22807
Phone: (540) 568-6423
dobrankm@jmu.edu

Vanessa L Munoz
Nominations Committee Student Member (2012-2013)
Department of Sociology
MS 071
Brandeis University
Waltham, Massachusetts 02453
Phone: (617) 803-4304
vmunoz@brandeis.edu​

Jennie Jacobs Kronenfeld
Chair, Health Policy and Research Committee (2012-2014)
School of Social and Family Dynamics
Box 873701
Arizona State University
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 408-965-8053
jennie.kronenfeld@asu.edu

Molly A. Martin
Chair, Membership Committee (2012-2014)
Pennsylvania State University
Department of Sociology
414 Oswald Tower
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: (814) 863-5508
mam68@psu.edu​

Kate W. Strully
Chair, Teaching Committee (2011-2013)
University at Albany, SUNY
Department of Sociology
1400 Washington Ave.
Arts and Sciences, 308
Albany, NY 12222
Phone (518) 442-4666
kstrully@albany.edu​

Sarah Burgard
Newsletter Editor
University of Michigan
Departments of Sociology and Epidemiology
500 South Main Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1382
Phone: (734) 615-9538
burgards@umich.edu​

Susan E. Stockdale
Chair, Book Raffle
HSR&D Center of Excellence
VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System (152)
16111 Plummer Street
Building 25 Room A-103
Sepulveda, CA 91343
Phone: (818) 891-7711 x2381
Susan.stockdale@va.gov​

Chioun Lee
Student Council Representative-at-Large (2012-2014)
Rutgers University
Department of Sociology/Institute for Health, Health Care Policy and Aging Research
112 Paterson Street
New Brunswick, NJ 8901
Phone: (848) 932-5894
chnlee68@gmail.com

Lianna Hart
Student Council Representative-at-Large (2011-2013)
University of California- Los Angeles
Department of Sociology
264 Haines Hall
375 Portola Plaza Los Angeles, CA 90095-1551
Phone: (310) 825.1313
liannahart@ucla.edu