Section Awards

The ASA Section on Medical Sociology has four annual competitions. Please see below for descriptions of each award, and for information on submitting a nomination.

Eliot Freidson Outstanding Publication Award

The Freidson Award is given in alternate years to a book or journal article published in the preceding two years that has had a major impact on the field of medical sociology. The 2013 award will be given to a journal article published in either 2011 or 2012. The article may deal with any topic in medical sociology, broadly defined. Self-nominations are permissible. When making a nomination, please indicate (however briefly) the reason for the nomination. Nomination letters can be sent to: Kristin K. Barker, Associate Professor of Sociology, Department of Sociology, University of New Mexico, MSC05 3080 1915 Roma NE Ste. 1103, Albuquerque NM 87131-0001 Alternatively, nomination emails can be sent to with the subject line: 2013 Freidson Award Nomination. Nominations are due by February 15, 2013.

Roberta G. Simmons Outstanding Dissertation in Medical Sociology Award

Nominations are being accepted for the 2013 Roberta G. Simmons Outstanding Dissertation in Medical Sociology Award. The award is given each year by the Medical Sociology section. The awardee will receive a $750 travel grant to attend the ASA meetings and an award certificate, and will attend the Reeder dinner as a guest of the Medical Sociology section. Self-nominations are acceptable. Eligible candidates must have defended their doctoral dissertations within two academic years prior to the annual meeting at which the award is made. To be considered for the 2013 award, the candidate should submit an article-length paper (sole-authored), not to exceed 35 double-spaced pages (11- or 12-point font), inclusive of references. This paper may have been previously published, or may be in press or under review. A letter of recommendation from a faculty mentor familiar with the candidate’s work is also required. Electronic submission of the paper (MS Word or PDF) is required. The letter of recommendation should be sent directly by the recommender as an email attachment (MS Word or PDF). Please send all materials to: Dawne Mouzon at with the subject line: 2013 Simmons Award Nomination. Deadline for receipt of all submission materials is March 1, 2013.

Leo G. Reeder Award

The Medical Sociology Section invites nominations for the 2014 Leo G. Reeder Award to be awarded at the annual meeting of the Medical Sociology Section in New York City. This award is given annually for Distinguished Contribution to Medical Sociology. This award recognizes scholarly contributions, especially a body of work displaying an extended trajectory of productivity that has contributed to theory and research in medical sociology. The Reeder Award also acknowledges teaching, mentoring, and training as well as service to the medical sociology community broadly defined. Please submit letter of nomination, at least two other suggestions for nominators, and the nominee’s curriculum vitae to Susan Bell ( with the subject line: 2013 Reeder Award Nomination. Nominations are due by May 31, 2013.

Louise Johnson Scholar Award

The Medical Sociology Section will select a student member of the section to be the 2013 Louise Johnson Scholar. The Louise Johnson Scholar fund was established in memory of Louise Johnson, a pioneering medical sociologist whose mentorship and scholarship we are pleased to honor. The fund was made possible by Sam Bloom of Mount Sinai School of Medicine, a former colleague of Louise Johnson. The Scholar will receive travel funds up to $350 to present at the annual ASA meetings in Denver and attend section events. Selection will be based on academic merit and the quality of an accepted ASA paper related to medical sociology; papers with faculty co-authors are ineligible. To apply, please send: 1) a copy of your acceptance notification to present at the 2013 ASA meetings, 2) a copy of your paper, 3) your CV, and 4) a letter of recommendation from a professor who can write about your academic merit. Submissions should be sent via email, as Word documents or PDFs, to Richard Miech at with the subject line: 2012 Louise Johnson Scholar Nomination. Applications are due by March 29, 2013.