homeprev issuesexecpublic affairsSTAFFASA home

Plenary Session Features President Epstein’s Address and Honors 006 Award Recipients

On Sunday, August 14, at 4:30 pm, ASA members will celebrate the presentation of the eight major ASA awards to colleagues who have done outstanding sociological work.

ASA Awards Ceremony and Presidential Address
Saturday, August 12, 4:30–6:15 PM
Presider: Lynn Smith-Lovin, Duke University

Moment of Remembrance
In Remembrance
At the beginning of the Presidential Plenary, there will be a “Moment of Silence”­ to remember those members of the profession who died during the past year. Names submitted to Footnotes since last year’s Annual Meeting will be listed in the Final Program. If you know of names that should be on this list but may not have been sent to ASA, please contact ASA Meeting Services (202-383-9005, x309; before June 15.

2006 Awards Ceremony
Presider: Nan Lin, Duke University
Dissertation Award
Jessie Bernard Award
DuBois-Johnson-Frazier Award
Award for Public Understanding of Sociology
Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology
Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award
Distinguished Scholarly Publication Award
Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award

Presidential Address
Presider: Lynn Smith-Lovin, Duke University
Presidential Address: “Cognitive Boundaries: The Social Basis of the Global Subjugation of Women.” Cynthia Fuchs Epstein, Graduate Center, City University of New York

All attendees are invited to this plenary session and to the Honorary Reception afterwards to honor President Epstein and the 2006 award recipients.