The CITASA website has been moved. Please update your bookmarks to:

The American Sociological Association Section on Communication and Information Technologies (CITASA) supports, enhances and promotes research, teaching and other professional activities related to:

  • The social aspects of computing, the Internet, new media, computer networks, and other communication and information technologies
  • The sociology of communication
  • The sociology of media
  • The design and use of technology in teaching and research.


The CITASA membership includes senior scholars who have written seminal works in the field, as well as students who will define the field tomorrow. Our research and teaching spans a broad range of topics, including established and new media, interpersonal and mediated communication, and the sociology of information technology. We connect with those outside the section through an equally broad collection of theoretical frameworks including community, conflict, democracy, diffusion, globalization, identity and inequalities.

2013-2014 CITASA Council Members

Chair, Jennifer Earl, University of Arizona

Chair-Elect, Laura Robinson Santa Clara University

Past-Chair, Shelia Cotten, University of Alabama Birmingham

Secretary-Treasurer, Katrina Kimport, UCSF

Council Member, Christopher A. Bail (2013-2015),University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Council Member, Jenny L Davis (2012-2015), Texas A&M University

Council Member, Hiroshi Ono (2012 - 2014), Texas A&M University

Council Member, Tim Hale (2012 - 2014), Center for Connected Health, Harvard University

Student Representative: PJ Rey (2012 - 2014), University of Maryland

Communications, Dan Ryan, Mills College